

## Provincial Point of View Premier Makes Cabinet Changes

## SPECIAL PROVINCIAL POINT OF VIEW

Congratulations to my colleagues that took their oath as Cabinet Ministers today. Under the direction of Premier Brad Wall, we will continue to see our province move forward. We are a strong team and it is fantastic to see other MLA's have the opportunity to serve as Cabinet Ministers.

I have had the incredible honour and privilege over the past six and half years of serving the people of this province in many different portfolios. I feel so fortunate to have worked with and learned from so many wonderful individuals.

The Premier has asked me to serve as Government House Leader. I look forward to this new role and am excited to take on this responsibility.

It is my greatest privilege however, to continue to serve the wonderful people of Saskatoon Silver Springs as their Member of the Legislative Assembly. There is still much work to do and I invite you to share your suggestions and ideas with me so we can make our city and province even better!

New Cabinet Lineup Designed to Keep Saskatchewan on the Path of Steady Growth

Premier Brad Wall re-organized his cabinet today, changing the responsibilities of about half of his ministers.

Wall said the new cabinet provides a balance of continuity and fresh perspectives that will keep Saskatchewan on the path of steady growth.

"Our province's economy remains strong and as a government, we are working to ensure all

Saskatchewan people share in the benefits of a growing economy," Wall said. "I believe this new cabinet strikes the right balance and will keep our growth agenda on track."

Veteran minister Don McMorris becomes Minister responsible for Crown Investments Corporation, Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority (SLGA), Saskatchewan Government Insurance, the Public Service Commission and the government's Lean Initiative.

"Many Saskatchewan people have been telling me they would like to see more private liquor retail options in our province," Wall said. "I have asked Minister McMorris, as SLGA minister, to look at various options and consider what makes sense for our province."

Four other current ministers change portfolios:

- Kevin Doherty becomes Minister of Advanced Education and Minister responsible for SaskTel:
- Donna Harpauer becomes Minister of Social Services and Minister responsible for Saskatchewan Housing Corporation and the Status of Women;
- Nancy Heppner becomes Minister of Highways and Minister responsible for Saskatchewan Gaming Corporation; and
- Tim McMillan becomes Minister responsible for Rural and Remote Health.
- "Shortly after taking office, our government conducted a Patient First review to ensure our priority in the health system was on the patient and front-line services," Wall said. "I have asked Minister McMillan to do a Patient First update to make sure we continue to focus on patients and that health care dollars are getting to the front lines of care as they should. Specifically, I am asking him to look at the balance of resources going to administration versus front-line staff, services and care."

Former minister Jeremy Harrison returns to cabinet as the Associate Minister of the Economy responsible for trade, tourism, innovation and immigration.

Three MLAs enter cabinet for the first time:

- Jennifer Campeau becomes Minister of Central Services and Minister responsible for Saskatchewan Transportation Corporation;
- Mark Docherty becomes Minister of Parks, Culture and Sport and Minister responsible for the Provincial Capital Commission; and

 Scott Moe becomes Minister of Environment and Minister responsible for SaskWater and the Water Security Agency.

Eight ministers remain in their current portfolios:

- Ken Krawetz remains Deputy Premier and Minister of Finance;
- Bill Boyd remains Minister of the Economy, Minister responsible for SaskPower and the Global Transportation Hub and adds responsibility for Energy and Resources;
- Dustin Duncan remains Minister of Health;
- Don Morgan remains Minster of Education, Minister of Labour Relations and Workplace
   Safety and Minister responsible for the Workers' Compensation Board;
- Jim Reiter remains Minister of Government Relations and Minister responsible for First Nations, Metis and Northern Affairs and adds responsibility for SaskEnergy;
- Lyle Stewart remains Minister of Agriculture and Minister responsible for Saskatchewan
   Crop Insurance Corporation;
- Christine Tell remains Minister responsible for Corrections and Policing; and
- Gordon Wyant remains Minister of Justice and Attorney General and adds responsibility for SaskBuilds.

"Minister Wyant will be establishing a branch of SaskBuilds called Priority Saskatchewan to help ensure Saskatchewan companies are being treated fairly when it comes to bidding on Saskatchewan projects, whether they are government-tendered projects or private sector projects," Wall said. "We have been hearing growing concerns about some other provinces giving preferential treatment to their local companies, so we are going to make sure there is a level playing field and Saskatchewan companies are not at a disadvantage."

The number of ministers remains at 18, including the Premier. The size of cabinet has not changed since the government took office in 2007.

Ken Cheveldayoff becomes the Government House Leader while Corey Tochor becomes Deputy Leader. Greg Ottenbreit remains Government Whip while Fred Bradshaw becomes Deputy Whip.

Nadine Wilson becomes Provincial Secretary and Legislative Secretary to the Premier.

There are six other new legislative secretaries:

- Greg Brkich becomes Legislative Secretary to the Minister of the Economy (Rail Transportation Initiative);
- Larry Doke becomes Legislative Secretary to the Minister of Highways;
- Wayne Elhard becomes Legislative Secretary to the Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs (International and Diplomatic Engagement);
- Victoria Jurgens becomes Legislative Secretary to the Minister of Government Relations (Northern Saskatchewan);
- Warren Michelson becomes Legislative Secretary to the Minister of the Economy (Manufacturing Sector); and
- Roger Parent becomes Legislative Secretary to the Minister responsible for SaskBuilds (Priority Saskatchewan Initiative).

Russ Marchuk, Paul Merriman, Kevin Phillips and Greg Lawrence maintain their existing Legislative Secretary duties.

**Premier Makes Cabinet Changes** 

## friend on Facebook | forward to a friend

## KEEP IN TOUCH

I appreciate the many opportunities to make a positive difference in my constituency. Your phone calls, letters, and emails make a big difference in keeping me informed on the issues that matter to you. If you would like me to recognize anyone or have your event mentioned in this newsletter, please don't hesitate to call or email me.

"From a Provincial Point of View" is a weekly message from Ken Cheveldayoff, MLA Saskatoon Silver Springs. Your opinions are important and your letters, emails, and phone calls on any issues relating to the provincial government are welcomed.

Copyright © 2014 Saskatoon Silver Springs, All rights reserved.



Phone: 306-651-7100 Fax: 306-651-6008

Email: ken.cheveldayoff.mla@sasktel.net